Home Regions California

Santa Barbara – A Salute to Teachers 2019 Honorees

“The influence of a great teacher can never be erased.”

Teachers are one of our community’s most valuable assets. And, that’s why Cox Communications and the Santa Barbara County Education Office have partnered to honor some of Santa Barbara’s best and brightest teachers.

Eight teachers were honored this year for their commitment to excellence and their dedication to students. Watch their stories on Santa Barbara A Salute to Teachers,” Fridays at 9:30 p.m. on YurView.

This year’s honorees included:

2019 Santa Barbara County Teacher of the Year Mandi de Witte of Carpinteria High School (Carpinteria Unified School District)

2019 Santa Barbara Bowl Performing Arts Teacher of the Year Aniela Hoffman of Arellanes Elementary, Arellanes Junior High School, and Liberty School (Santa Maria-Bonita School District)

2019 Distinguished Mentors:

Stephanie Gogonis, Santa Ynez Valley Union High School (Santa Ynez Valley Union High School District)

Robin Ilac, Kermit McKenzie Intermediate School (Guadalupe Union School District)

Toni Joi Roberts, Santa Ynez School (College School District)

2019 Distinguished New Educators:

Katie Furden, Franklin Elementary School (Santa Barbara Unified School District)

Andy Osiadacz, Dos Pueblos High School (Santa Barbara Unified School District)

Jacob West, Leonora Fillmore School (Lompoc Unified School District)