Home Regions California

Presenting the 2018-2019 San Diego County Teachers of the Year

A Salute to Teachers
Pictured from left: Sesha Haynes, Jose Villegas, Katie Wu, Melissa Moreno, Stephanie Glanz

Five incredible educators were chosen as 2018-2019 San Diego County Teachers of the Year at the 28th Annual Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers brought to you by San Diego County Credit Union. The black-tie, Academy Awards-style event honoring the county’s 22,000 public school teachers was held on September 15th at the historic Balboa Theatre in downtown San Diego. These five will go on to compete for State and National Teacher of the Year honors.

This year’s Salute was hosted by Dennis Morgigno and Sandra Maas and featured musical and dance performances by some of San Diego’s most talented students.  The show was telecast live in HD on YurView California and will be replayed multiple times.

The new San Diego County Teachers of the Year are:

Stephanie Glanz
Escondido Union School District
Rose Elementary School

Sesha Haynes
Sweetwater Union High School District
Sweetwater High School

Melissa Moreno
Chula Vista Elementary School District
Rosebank Elementary School

Jose Villegas
South Bay Union School District
Nestor Language Academy

Katie Wu
Poway Unified School District
Westview High School

Click here for more on A Salute to Teachers.