Home Watch Latest Videos

Dash to the Desert Overtime – NCAA Tournament Officiating


In this Overtime edition of Dash to the Desert Episode 2, Vin Parise and Scott Williams discuss the officiating through the first two rounds of the NCAA Tournament.

Seton Hall caught a tough break when the referees, going by the letter of the law, gave a flagrant foul to Desi Rodriguez in the final minute of their First Round loss to Arkansas. The ensuing free throws gave the Razorbacks a 4-point lead with 18.3 seconds, an insurmountable deficit for the Pirates to make up.

[cta id=’3689′]

In Second Round action, Northwestern had all the momentum vs. one-seed Gonzaga when the officials missed a Bulldog put his hand up through the rim to block an NU layup that would have made it a 3-point game with five minutes left. Instead, Northwestern coach Chris Collins got a technical foul (rightfully so) for arguing the non-call, and Gonzaga regained the momentum on their way to the Sweet 16.

Rhode Island never hit the Bonus in their Round of 32 game vs Oregon – in either half – as they took only eight free throws to the Ducks’ twenty-seven. In fact, Oregon made ten more foul shots than Rhody ATTEMPTED, a huge disparity in what turned out to be a 3-point game.